Season 2: What’s in the box?

Catch up here
Jonathan Hogan – writing for JDH blogs.

21/01/22

With another Christmas period done and another spend in Edinburgh to avoid the worst of the Hungarian winter. Getting ready to pack up and head back across today but first I have a match to watch on a laggy Youtube stream.

22/01/22

Well this has been a bloody f*** up. No confirmation on the hosts side and my accommodation has been double-booked, and, well I was hardly going to kick out the family with 2 wee kids. Guess I get to relive my inter-railing days and it’s some time spent in a youth hostel. Who doesn’t love sharing a bathroom with 8 other people?

31/01/22

Look at him. He knows…

Well, if you had told me that I’d end up crashing in the spare room of someone I regularly saw at Bar 360, I wouldn’t have chosen where I’ve ended up, but, I can’t thank Alex (not Alexander, I’ve learned) enough for letting me stay for a while. I have to say he’s shown me the greatest humility and respect over the last while, considering how we started things. The only thing I’d say as a negative is I’ve now learned what he was hinting at when he mentioned his Mum and her partner “were very into listening to Sting songs”. I know they live in a separate building but I do wish they wouldn’t keep the windows open, still though in their early 70’s, well played.

28/02/22

So to keep you all in the loop, life is going pretty well, even if I’m still staying in Alex’s house. I’ve tried to leave as I’ve booked elsewhere but his wee daughter Hanna, isn’t having any of it. As much as it’s been weird at times as the extra person in an extended household including Alex, his fiance, his daughter, his mum and her partner (at times) I’ve very much enjoyed my time with them and cannot thank them enough. 

03/04/22 

Heading off to one of our Bar 360 trips post-match with Gerardo and Dávid, we’ve become something of a regular fixture. I’m not sure any of that gets said can be “on the record” but I’ve enjoyed being taken into their group. Although most of the time does seem to be them taking shots at me not doing anything with Emilia despite the fact “Your face lights up like the sun over a summer Mexico City morning, when she speaks to you” according to Gerardo, but I don’t see it. I mean just because I replay her cover of “It’s Probably Me” in my head a lot, it doesn’t mean anything. Nothing. Nada.

27/04/22

Tensions seem to be running a bit high at Sori behind the scenes, no-one has much time for the tag-along journalist these days. A few more raised voices and harsh words than I’ve seen in the past. End of season tension I guess.

10/05/22

Jonathan is at the Szamosi Mihály Sporttelep for the final time this season, with 1 away match left of the season. Sitting in the canteen a heated conversation drifts in from the car park through an open window. 

“I can’t believe you’ve said to Mihály!” The voice of DOF Atilla Dragoner is heard by all in, a now, silent canteen.

“Well, what can I say? He asked me for an opinion? I gave one!” Alexander retorts. He continues, “It’s not my fault that we’ve wasted a club-record transfer this season, it was made clear to me when we started who was in charge of transfers”.

“So one, poor, and I’ll only say that because you’ve refused to play him, signing and suddenly it’s me or you?”

“No. It’s not one, it’s the fact that I feel I have to direct the Director of Football to any good player”. Jonathan thought to himself, “you could hear the air quote fingers in that sentence” whilst glancing over at Gerardo. Who for his part looked as concerned as anyone. 

“Well” Attila paused, before continuing; “I was here long before you and I’ve every faith I’ll be here long after you!”

“Maybe… maybe you’re right there”.

With that, the canteen heard the door close on a car and the over-exaggerated revs that happen when trying to exit angrily. As Atilla entered the room for his lunch, a general panicked hubbub began, intending to hide the fact everyone was listening, which of course did the exact opposite. “Fuck” thought Jonathan, “Alex is my ride home”. 

16/05/20

Inside Magvető Café.

Jonathan reading through various media reports claiming that Alex Robertson is rumoured to have had a bust-up with the club’s Director of Football. When he glances up and sees Alexander walking into the cafe. Interestingly, with a box under one arm and sunglasses on. He takes a seat and orders a coffee before turning to Jonathan.

“Are we going to meet here every time you leave for a bit?”

Jonathan nods, “If it was a book you’d say this was an unnecessary callback, but, really I’m just a man of habit”. He continued, “What’s in the box, and, why have you got sunglasses on? It’s pissing down outside”.

“Pick one question first, Jon-boy”.

“The glasses then”. Alex tilted up the glasses to reveal a pretty fresh looking bruise around his left eye.

“Jesus pal, are you sure you don’t want to order a raw steak for that?” Jonathan grinned before continuing “Atilla give you that, or, was it your Mrs?”.

“Neither!” Alex replied pointedly. This was a present from Markus, and technically I think it was meant for you. 

“Who the f***, is Markus, and why does he want to hit me?”

“Well, let me tell you the tale. Don’t worry I’ll keep it brief, I know you’ll have a taxi coming”. He continued, “It all starts at our place of lodging, where my dearest Wife gave me an idea for a present for you!” Jonathan looked puzzled, but before he could interject, Alex proceeds. 

“So, off I went to our local bar that overlooks this great City. There I was having a lovely chat with a particular staff member, another overheard me asking for her number, he missed me asking on behalf of you, mind. This other member of staff decided that this was a more appropriate leaving gift, he had a good right cross mind, but I reckon the element of surprise had me beaten”. He pauses, grinning “the good news is he doesn’t work there anymore!”. 

Alex’s coffee arrived and in the pause in conversation Jonathan replied. 

“So she has a partner then?”

“Don’t you journalists catch on quick!”. There was a pause in conversation that could only have been 15-20 seconds, but to Jonathan, felt like an age. Alex broke the silence with; “So, do you want to know about the box then?”

“Of course”, Jonathan said, returning from his thoughts. 

Alex slide the box across the table and Jonathan opened it up whilst casually commenting “It’s not the stuff from your desk is it? Another present this time from Atilla?”.

Inside the box is a newly issued football shirt, with Robertson printed on the back. 

“You haven’t, have you?” A wide grin appeared on Robertson’s face, resembling a cosplay of Peter Capaldi’s stint as Dr Who. “Don’t smile, it’s not natural for you”, Jonathan laughed. “Does this count as an exclusive?” 

“You’ve missed what else is in the box, never mind the top!” Alexander nodded his head towards the cardboard slightly.

Jonathan glanced down and under the football shirt was, what appeared to be a handwritten note, folded over.

Next post (linked when available)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started